“Zebra” gallops towards the finish line.

This month “Zebra” has entered the final editing stages, and the publisher has sent a galley proof. It is lovely to see all the text and images in place. Although my coauthor and I have collected these pictures (some 100 paintings, photos, postcards…) over several years, it really is amazing to see them together in book form.  A release is on the cards for early 2018.

I first admired Reaktion’s “Animal” books back as a graduate student in my early 20s, and I could read through one in an afternoon. Now that I have coauthored an “Animal” title, it feels like an odd sensation.

 

zebraendimage.jpg

Zebra, van achteren, Samuel Jessurun de Mesquita, 1878 – 1944

Paper and chalk drawing from the Rijksmuseum’s collection.

 

 

About Dr Christopher Plumb

I am a cultural historian with an interest in exotic animals in eighteenth-century Britain. I recently wrote a book on the history of exotic animals in Georgian Britain. I am currently working on a cultural history of the zebra to be published in early 2018.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

